Who is… me?

Recently I have spent an ungodly amount of time talking with various people about human behavior and social interactions… partly because the whole subject fascinates the hell out of me, and partly because my divorce has forced me to doubt my knowledge base. (I shouldn’t have, by the way. It turns out there is a difference between knowing something and knowing something.)

So let me tell you something about me.

I would appear to most people to be a very “take charge” woman. The, “I can do it the hell myself, get out of the way.” And professionally I am very much like that.

Personally though….

Relationships are challenging. A friend recently told me that, “If a guy is interested, he will pursue you.” Not meaning, completely, that he would harass me to death, but that he would show a concentrated interest.

I understand that, to a point… but I also find that most people are indecisive.

I am sure that we have all had that argument with our partner, coworker, parent, child, etc. “What do you want for dinner?” “I don’t know, what do you want?”

REALLY?!?!?!?!?  If I knew what I was going to eat, I would not have asked the question. Thank you for being completely unhelpful

As you can tell, it’s really a pet peeve of mine.

My issue is, I make a 1000 decisions a day (ok not that many in my current job, but I used to.) when it comes to my romantic life, occasionally I would like to NOT have to make the decisions.

My Ex-Husband had a very bad habit, and still to this day, says that we just stopped spending time together. He means “date” time, and he’s not wrong, but trying to plan a date was exhausting. He would suggest the idea, but then it was up to me to come up with: what, when, where, AND ask my family to watch the girls. I seriously got the impression that he just didn’t give a shit if we went anywhere or not, and as I am a natural home body (listen to: Sam Hunt’s “House Party”), I just stopped. I was too much. Too much and I never could enjoy it because I would work myself up so much that I usually ended up getting sick.

It’s good then, that I’m redoing the paperwork for parts of my job, because my no nonsense professional life ties in with my, No room for bullshit personal philosophy… Not sure that the students will agree.

Leave a Reply

