A hug is better than hollow words.

Why say it when you know it’s not true? It doesn’t “help me,” it’s not “moral support,” actually it’s hurtful.

Anyone who has been through any kind of personal crisis will has heard those words:

  • “I’m here if you need anything.”
  • “If there is anything I can do…”
  • and the other 1000 variations on the theme

And we all know that while, some of the time, their heart is in the right place, it’s not an offer that they intend for you to take them up on. Like if you’re sobbing at 11:45 pm and need a donut and a hug, don’t expect a knock at your door.

Do not misunderstand, I know that you are trying to show your solidarity and support. I know that you mean well. But if you do not intend for their to be a follow through, just give me a hug. Truly, that hug will mean so much more than a million empty offers. Just hug me, squeeze me, know that I may cry, and hug me anyway.

2 Responses to “A hug is better than hollow words.”

  1. dataylor43 Says:

    completely agree…I am fortunate enough to say that I have been able to call my mom over the last few months at crazy times during the night to cry and talk!!!

Leave a Reply

