Abandon all hope, ye who enter here…

Evil – I will not cover the definition here, but Mom With Her Running Shoes On does a good job of breaking it down.

Evil is something that I have struggled with all of my life, it is one of the reasons I no longer feel at home in church, one of the questions that no one in any church has been able to answer to my satisfaction: If God is Omnipotent, then why is there so much bad in the World?

This topic is also fresh on my mind because I have been reading Dan Brown’s Inferno, and there is no one in the world that covers evil, sin, and hell like Dante. So with that in mind, I’ll give you a great quote that I feel is the greatest evil in the world today:

“The hottest places in hell are reserved for those who, in times of great moral crisis, maintain their neutrality.”

                                                                                                                                                                                                                   ― Dante Alighieri, Inferno
 

Do not mistake me, I am NOT Conservative… AT ALL. But I don’t have to go to church 3 times a week to know that too many good people are standing by while truly evil things are happening in this world. (Such as this: Woman Raped By Ex-Boyfriend Because Police Didn’t Have Enough Funding To Send Help)

And what really twists my titties is that there are twatwaffles (my favorite “t” swear word) out there that care more about what someone’s sexual orientation is than whether or not people are being adequately fed, clothed, housed, and educated.

Here is a good list of what people smarter and better versed than I have to say about Evil.

So I’ll leave you with the disjointed post and a personal favorite quote:

“Of all the evils for which man has made himself responsible, none is so degrading, so shocking or so brutal as his abuse of the better half of humanity; the female sex.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

16 Responses to “Abandon all hope, ye who enter here…”

  1. Damn (haha) straight. “All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.”

  2. Um, um., (Struggles for interesting/insightful/clever quote). Yeah, I got nothin…

  3. First. Twatwaffles is one of my favorites, too.

    Second. Your post, for some reason, made me think of this quote, “Power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely.” Then it made me think about Animal Farm by George Orwell. Which is a fabulous read about how power can corrupt and turn good into evil.

  4. well said and a great use of Dante. this has been one of my favorite prompts to go around reading other responses.

  5. I always think that everything needs an opposite. Nothing can exist in a vacuum. Without bad, how can you understand what is good? How can you differentiate between good and bad if you don’t know what bad is?
    Can there be love without hate? (or indifference, some would claim is the true antithesis to love)
    Can there be joy without sadness?
    Can there truly be good without bad?

    • Absolutely, but do you believe in different “shades” of bad? Are “bad” and “evil” the same?

      • depends upon the act being defined as such. murder is bad, but it is also evil. speeding is bad, but maybe not evil – unless it’s an evil person evading capture and causing and accident in the process.
        so yeah, I guess there are different shades of everything.

        but if evil and bad are not the “same” – and good is the opposite of bad, what is the opposite of evil? angelic? sainthood? I think everything has a shade.

      • The rational side of me sees your point. But in my heart I still can’t reconcile the existence of such great evil.

  6. I love your use of Dante’s quote. It’s one of society’s greatest perils, the “watching syndrome”. People don’t think they are bad because they did not participate in the bad act, but they neither stopped it. I can’t tell you how many times I have been guilty of this whether it be because of my ignorance, laziness, or whatever other smoke screen I was paying attention to at that time. When children are starving because they couldn’t afford a “hot” lunch, this week’s headlines are Kardashians cankles. It’s a sad reality. Thanks for the great read! And twatwaffles is an amazing word!

    • I have to admit, that I have also been guilty of “evil by lack of action.” There are times when we are “too busy” or “too frightened” to take a stand. And now that I have little bits I think I’m even more wary…you know the saying, “No good deed goes unpunished.”

  7. That Dante quote is EXACTLY what my post was about. I don’t care what anyone says. If you do nothing to stop something that is morally abhorrent then you are culpable too.

Leave a Reply

