Cleansing

I was floored today when I looked at my Facebook and realized that my friends list was approaching 300 people. I thought, “surely I don’t have that many friends on here, and if I do surely I don’t know them all.” But as I scrolled through all of them I realized that I knew every one. I could tell you how I met them and at least one memorable story about them. But even though I knew all of them I still deleted several people from the overwhelming list simply because my life has outgrown them. That sounds harsh I realize, but it is the truth. I have no need for people in my life who can only talk about how much they are looking forward to getting trashed every night.

For too long I have let everyone I meet have the benefit of the doubt, but now I’m choosing to be choosey about who I let have access to my life.

Leave a Reply

