Laid to Rest

Perhaps it’s time I laid you to rest.

I read your obituary today.

I read it in my heart and knew.

That what I had always feared was coming true.

I was saying goodbye in the only way that I could make stick.

But my brain knows what my heart is trying to force.

To long for your touch is like a moth longing for the flame.

The kiss and bite of the whip at the hand of an angel.

Blinding light in the desolate blackness.

I know that you are not gone.

You will never leave my mind even when my heart reads,

that you are in the clearing at the end of the path.

My logic will not buy my heart’s lies.

But I can not deny that a small part of me wishes your ghost would die.

 

angel

Leave a Reply

